Joe Niekro Crystal Bat Award

Home/Research Grants/Joe Niekro Crystal Bat Award
Search JNF

The Crystal Bat Award was created to recognize individuals who have demonstrated exemplary commitment to philanthropy and to the mission of The Joe Niekro Foundation.

The recipient is selected by the Foundations Leadership Committee; the criteria for nomination are:

  • A record of service to the Foundation
  • A leadership commitment to the practice of philanthropy for the foundations Houston Knuckle Ball

The Joe Niekro Foundation proudly acknowledges the philanthropy of individuals who have distinguished themselves through their extraordinary investment in the mission of the Joe Niekro Foundation. We are pleased to honor them with the Crystal Bat Award that acknowledges their efforts.

2024 Crystal Bat Award

The Wehby Family

2024 Recipients

2023 Crystal Bat Award

Betty Hemus

2023 Recipient

2021 Crystal Bat Award

Angela &
John "Bo" Nichols

2021 Recipients

2018 Joe Niekro Foundation Humanitarian Award

Don and Connie Rankin

2018 Recipients

2016 Joe Niekro Humanitarian Honoree

Deborah Duncan, KHOU 11 and Brain Aneurysm Survivor

2016 Joe Niekro Medical Humanitarian Honoree

Dr. Arthur Day, Memorial Hermann Health System and McGovern Medical School

2015 Joe Niekro Humanitarian of the Year (Phoenix)

Petrice “TC” Schuttler

2014 Joe Niekro Humanitarian of the Year

Bobby Tudor

2014 Recipient

2012 Joe Niekro Humanitarian Award

J. Kent Friedman

Haynes and Boone, LLP / Chairman of the Board of the Harris County – Houston Sports Authority

2012 Recipient

Skip to content